Boring Necessities (and the run-up to goodbyes)

27Aug08

Exactly two weeks since my last post and I’ve barely accomplished anything. This is partially down to my inherent inability to motivate myself to do anything that doesn’t immediately produce fun/pleasurable results and partially down to the fact that Nationwide’s online registration service is a piece of crap that tells you you’ll be receiving the necessary paperwork in five working days then doesn’t send you anything at all.

I’m grudgingly looking at quotes for travel insurance and the cheapest I can find is £175 for the year which includes an unnecessary premium of £60 just so I can be covered for a bit of skiing/snowboarding here and there. I think I’ll get that paid for tomorrow during my lunch break.

I’ve now been into the local branch of Nationwide and opened an account before their very eyes. I should have the details of my new account either today or tomorrow. Failing that I might scream. I really need this bank account to be sorted as soon as possible so I can get my finances in order once and for all. There are thirteen days until I leave so it’s getting a bit close now.

There has been no further movement towards a decision on what exactly I’m going to pack and I don’t expect there will be until at least a couple of days before my flight.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to see as much of my friends as possible. While it’s difficult to motivate myself to do this when I’ve been working full-time I know that if I shut myself away and spend all my time sleeping I’ll kick myself when the time to leave finally arrives. More than that, I’ve been cramming as much time with Andrew in as I possibly can. I know he’s doing everything in his power to join me out there but even so I’ll miss him terribly. There are so many ‘what if..?’ scenarios running around my head and they’re driving me towards insanity, or certainly towards a hefty bout of mania.

I’m having a small party in our field this weekend and I’ve invited quite a few people. My cousins, Ceniz and Cem, and my auntie Kate are also visiting for the weekend to say their goodbyes. I’m really looking forward to it – seeing them, that is, and not the goodbyes – and will hopefully have lots of photos to post here afterwards.



One Response to “Boring Necessities (and the run-up to goodbyes)”

  1. Blogrolld and RSSd!


Leave a comment